Walter Hayes Trophy You Tube Hit

The National College for Motorsport (NC4M) recently took part in the Walter Hayes Trophy which takes place at Silverstone where the NC4M is based.

The Walter Hayes Trophy is an internationally known event featuring Formula Ford – a category that has introduced drivers such as Johnny Herbert, Eddie Irvine, Mark Webber, Jenson Button and Anthony Davidson to Formula 1.

Each year over 130 racers from around the globe gather at Silverstone for the ultimate FF event of the season. Competing through a series of knockout heats, progression races and semi finals, drivers fight to reach the WHT Grand Final – a race that rewards the winner with the Walter Hayes Trophy!

The National College for Motorsport’s race car (a Van Diemen RF 92  Formula Ford) was prepared and run by the following students  Buster Bailey, Korrey Williams, Sean Mulhall, Oliver Busfield and Thomas Evans. Nick Tandy (Porsche factory race driver) was the race driver for the event.

Despite only being able to get in 10 practice laps due to red flags the car qualified 2nd for its heat. Nick made a great start to lead into the first corner and had a close race with Ben Mitchell, by the end of the race they had pulled a 7-second gap to third place with Nick maintaining the lead throughout the race and taking the win. Nick thanked all of the students and commended them on how well the car was prepared and presented. Winning the heat placed Nick in 3rdplace for the Semi final (which contained all of the favourites to win) on Sunday. From another good start 2nd place was gained off the line unfortunately the gear linkage failed due to a faulty coupling causing retirement.

The students found the weekend to be a great experience and invaluable to their future career as a race mechanic.

Click on the following link to view a video of the event